Confectious Concoctions

Re:Start

Posted on: July 1, 2010

Sorry, y’all,  for the long hiatus (not like anyone reads this blog anyway). It’s been an interesting couple of months. Life at K&W has been busy with planning for GEHA Open Season 2010, Crown Center summer events, and all the “normal” stuff has to squeeze in between all that.

Not to mention non-work stuff like making a dress for our trip to Cancun, lots of gym time in prep for said trip, Ad Club stuff, social events, etc.

In between all that I managed to get a new job that I really, really wanted. That’s right. I’m now a “partner” at Barkley working for now on Sonic‘s media planning team. Yes, that means my life will be ruled mostly by Excel and PowerPoint … heavy on the Excel. It’s been an interesting few months trying to be stealth about the process and I really wanted to share my joys and frustrations with more than just a couple very close friends. But I definitely feel like I made the right move. A good friend and cohort told me a good measure of knowing if I did make the right decision to leave familiar and safe to new, different, unknown is if among my high of being desired as an employee, there were also feelings of, “Oh shit, what have I gotten myself into?” And, trust me, there are.

So last week, after making sure my clients were set and I downloaded my knowledge to my replacement and other co-workers, I packed up all the stuff that had accumulated over almost four years into two large Panera bags, and one medium-sized gift bag. It was really odd seeing my desk that empty again, as if a part of me was gone forever. But you and I both know that that’s not true. I will hold my time at K&W as a wonderful growth period. I learned a lot about myself as a professional, what I wanted to do, where I wanted to be, developing client relationships, working with different personalities, etc.

Week 1 at Barkley is almost done and so far so good. My coworkers are really great, and I’m trying to get the new agency and client vernacular down, though I know that will take some time. Hell, I even did my timesheet wrong the first time around, but that shouldn’t be a problem from now on.

So, if you’d raise a make believe glass for a moment with me, here’s to then, here’s to now, and here’s to seeing how this next chapter turns out.

1 Response to "Re:Start"

Psssst I read it and love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

See What I’m Up To or Say Hi!



Watch out Martha, I'm the next Domestic Diva.

Sweet Tweets

Recent Bookmarks

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Archives

