Confectious Concoctions

Disgustingly, Guiltily Unmotivated

Posted on: July 14, 2010

I have several sewing projects in the hopper right now. It’s kind of disgusting and making me feel more and more guilty as I think about them. In semi-particular order:

  1. Remember my mom’s pillows? Yeah, actually, they’re not done yet. I decided to put a border on them and a zipper. I have everything I need … except the motivation. GOAL: complete by 7/30 so I can take them up to Iowa and give them to her.
  2. I plan on making some burp cloths for a couple pregnant girlfriends. One is about to pop any second, and the other is due in mid-October, but her showers are in the next 6 weeks. I also want to make a few onesies with funny sayings, like “I’m a breast man,” for her. I have the diapers for the burp cloths (well, they’re on their way from Amazon.com), just need ribbon and fabric to customize them. Time will have to be my motivation.
  3. My BF Juanita requested I make a purse for her back in April. She only requested it to be brown, and I hope I picked out the perfect fabric from Sarah’s in Lawrence. I hope to make it reversible, because the fabric I purchased for the lining is really pretty, too, and I think I have everything else I need … except the motivation. She’s going to be in KC in a few weeks, so I hope to have it done by then. Time, again, will have to be the reason why I get off my butt.
  4. The clutch I made last summer needs some refining – it’s too floppy and soft. So I need to take it apart and sew-in the stiffer interfacing I purchased. I just need the … you guessed it … damn motivation!
  5. I made a throw pillow for myself with fabric I bought from 1154 Lill’s KC store closing sale, so I can practice with the border and zipper. I just need to make it’s mate.
  6. I bought some other funky fabric at the same time and hope to make a skirt out of it for summer. I have a pattern already, too. Guess I better get on this one since it’s mid-July already.
  7. I absolutely fell in love with this pumpkin throw pillow from BHG.com a couple years ago, and I have everything I need, I just need to make it.

    Adorable throw pillow I want to make for fall decoration.

  8. I started a Christmas tree skirt back in 2006. It’s still yet to be finished. Along with embellishing matching stockings and a table runner.

Anyone got any advice on how to get and stay motivated to make time to work on and eventually complete these projects?

Leave a Reply

See What I’m Up To or Say Hi!



Watch out Martha, I'm the next Domestic Diva.

Sweet Tweets

Recent Bookmarks

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Archives

