Confectious Concoctions

Hair Today … Gone Tomorrow

Posted on: August 5, 2010

I never thought I’d be one of those women who cried when they got their long locks cut short. But when I went last week to do that very thing, I damn near teared up.  I came to love how it felt on my naked shoulders when I wore tank tops and the swoosh of my pony tail when I ran. I did not, however, like it when it got caught in bag straps and car doors. That part’s no fun. So, thanks to some wine and some good sense, I didn’t embarrass myself.

It all started about 4 years ago. That was the last time I cut more than an inch off of my hair – in fact, it was 7. I was hoping to be able to handle the heat and humidity to grow my hair long enough to donate to Locks of Love (10 inches is the minimum). But July turned out to be extremely monstrous and I gave in, vowing to continue to grow it until it was long enough so I could donate.

And I did. And it feels great to be able to do so. I even got my Certificate Of Appreciation already.

I know you’ve been waiting for the hard evidence. Here are some before and after pics at the salon. The longest layers of my pony tail ended up being 11 inches, but she really could’ve cut a little more, as the final style is much shorter. I do love my fresh, new look, and am glad I didn’t become that attached to my hair.

I do kind of feel a little bad for the poor kid who now has to deal with it. But I’m glad I could provide something to deal with more. And I encourage everyone, especially if you have long enough hair, to donate it at least once, even if you are somewhat attached to it. It’ll grow back, and it will give you such a great feeling that keeping your hair can’t.

7 Responses to "Hair Today … Gone Tomorrow"

So proud of you for such a selfless act – and I love the new look too 🙂

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jeff Berney, Chelsea Fitch. Chelsea Fitch said: I donated my hair to Locks of Love. Here's a brief recap and some pics. http://bit.ly/dBFtFF […]

I’ll see Kyle’s pride and raise it by a mother factor. What a tremendously giving thing to do! Everyone I’ve shared this with loves the new ‘do, too.

i want to know where this wine-serving salon in KC is! i’m gonna chop my hair soon, and might check this place out. 🙂

Hi Bailey. I go to Tara at Sonrisa Salon & Spa in The Village at Burlington Creek (formerly the Tuileries). It’s an Aveda salon – love the smell of their products!

thanks! i actually live in LA now, but i’ll be home for vacation next month and will likely cut my hair while i’m in KC. i also have some girls who usually cut my hair, but your cut looks great and that wine got me intrigued. 🙂

Ha! It definitely makes for great customer service!

Leave a Reply

See What I’m Up To or Say Hi!



Watch out Martha, I'm the next Domestic Diva.

Sweet Tweets

Recent Bookmarks

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Archives

