Confectious Concoctions

Yellow Pepper Soup

Posted on: February 11, 2011

Kyle and I went to Dog Nuvo for lunch one day, and their soup du jour was yellow pepper soup. I believe it was Roasted Curried Yellow Pepper Soup, but my memory fails me. A hot dog didn’t sound appealing then, so I thought I would get their soup. When it arrived at our table, it was glorious – beautiful and so delicious. It wasn’t pureed like most pepper soups. Instead, the peppers were diced into uniform square shapes, resting in a glorious, semi-opaque broth.  The skin was intact, and cooked to perfection – still slightly crisp, like pasta al dente. The golden color of the peppers really inspired me. There’s just something about a yellow pepper that says fresh and gourmet, and relevant in all seasons. It seemed so simple, I knew I had to figure out how to make it. I am a self-proclaimed Soup Maven.

So I did some research to see if I could find a similar recipe. But all of the recipes I found were a puree. Oh well. No problem. I’ll just make it up and here’s what I came up with:

Yellow Pepper Soup

5-6 yellow peppers

4-5 cups chicken broth or stock

1/2 sliced mushrooms

2 green onions

1 can Cream of Celery soup

1 tsp Curry powder

1 tbsp Tarragon

1 tsp Turmeric

Ground black pepper

I thought the soup at Dog Nuvo was roasted, but the skins were in tact still, so I went ahead and broiled 2 peppers all around enough so they were blacked and I could take the skin off. I just diced the remaining peppers. In retrospect, I don’t think roasting was necessary and I won’t do it next time to see if there’s any difference in flavor.

In a large pot, get broth boiling with the tarragon, curry and turmeric. Add diced, un-roasted peppers. When they are about half way cooked, add your sliced mushrooms (and diced roasted peppers if you chose to do that), green onions and cream of celery soup. Let it heat through, season to taste.

A couple things I might add in the future:

Chives (I didn’t have any on hand)

White or yellow onions

Garlic

Leave a Reply

See What I’m Up To or Say Hi!



Watch out Martha, I'm the next Domestic Diva.

Sweet Tweets

Recent Bookmarks

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Archives

