Confectious Concoctions

Rekindled by a Romance Novel?

Posted on: February 15, 2011

Kyle’s mom sent me a book for Valentine’s Day, Always the Baker, Never the Bride, and it’s actually affected me quite a bit.

For one thing, I’m a pathetically helpless romantic, and even the simplest of stories with even a touch of romance (realistic romance – not the Fabio-on-the-cover romance novels) get me in a state of I-can’t-put-this-book-down-because-I-need-to-see-if-he-kisses-her. And this book has a super sweet storyline to it between employer and employee. Sigh.

However, the heroine in the book is a baker. I.e. she’s me, except I’m not diabetic, or 5’9″. But she’s amazing. And I want to be her, and so this book has rekindled the thought of going to culinary school – a thought that has all but left my mind since I started at Barkley, at an agency I truly loved, in a career I knew could take me places and that I was finally enjoying life as a working girl.

And then this book had to show up with Top Chef All Stars in full swing. With the bud of an idea of a cupcake war event in Kansas City in the spring beginning to blossom.

Oh. BTW, this book has recipes in it, including Espresso Fondant, and tips for how best to layer a multi-tier cake, and top 10 wedding themes.

This book makes my mind swirl when I’m not concentrated on my quickened heart rate induced by the I-can’t-put-this-book-down-because-I-need-to-see-if-he-kisses-her.

So what did I do for 3 hours on Sunday night? I made cookies for Valentine’s Day. Heart shaped ones. Sugarless, except for the Barbie Pink royal icing. I thought they were ok. Others thought they were fabulous. We’re our own worse critics.

Kyle and I went to Justus Drugstore in Smithville for Valentine’s Day last night and it was beyond amazing. Chef Justus even came out to greet each table during the several hours it takes to finish the fantastic meal there, and I learned that at 45, he had only been cooking for about 8 years.

So for now, because culinary school ain’t cheap, I’m still all but ruling it completely out as a future endeavor. So there’s still hope for me and my bakery. Some day.

Leave a Reply

See What I’m Up To or Say Hi!



Watch out Martha, I'm the next Domestic Diva.

Sweet Tweets

Recent Bookmarks

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Archives

